California Social Work License
There is only one social work license in California, a LCSW, which requires an
MSW from an accredited social work program. *California does not require a license to be employed as a social worker, only to perform psychotherapy.
NASW Documents Explaining the LCSW License Process
California Board of Behavioral Sciences (BBS) Web Resources
NASW-CA Chapter CE Courses
Online Law and Ethics Coursework
Need 18 or 12 hours of pre-license
CA law and ethics coursework?
Need 6 hours of law and ethics for a
LCSW/LMFT license renewal?
NASW-CA Customer Service
Email questions to